Concealed Pistol License Application
The application can be downloaded directly from this web page or can be obtained from the Record Section of the Chesterfield Township Police Department.
Record Department Hours:
8am to 4:30pm on Monday, Wednesday and Friday
1:30pm to 4:30pm on Tuesday and Thursday
State of Michigan Concealed Weapon Purchase Laws
Download Concealed Pistol License Application
- The applicant must file his or her application with the county clerk in the county in which he or she resides.
The applicant must also:
- Present the original certificate of completion of the pistol safety training course. The county clerk will make a copy of the certificate at the time the application is submitted. Certificates must contain the statement: "This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372." For a renewal of a license issued after July 1, 2001, the applicant must sign a statement certifying that he or she has completed at least 3 hours of review of the required training and has had at least 1 hour of firing range time in the last 6 months preceding the application. This statement appears on the Concealed Pistol License Application.
- Include a passport-quality photograph.
- Pay all applicable fees. For all applications there is a $105 fee payable to the county clerk. The county clerk will provide a receipt for payment of fees.
- The applicant shall bring the receipt for payment to the sheriff’s department for fingerprinting. An applicant may have his or her fingerprints taken at a local police agency; however, an additional charge may be assessed by the local agency (The Chesterfield Police Department charges a fee of $5 for this service). If the sheriff’s department participates with a vendor for fingerprinting, the county clerk will provide additional instructions.
- The county sheriff or local law enforcement agency will fingerprint the applicant and forward the fingerprints to the Michigan State Police for processing.
- Once the concealed weapon license board receives the fingerprints comparison report, they shall issue or deny the license within 45 days. Please note, however, that the entire application process may take several months.
- The county clerk may require that all licenses be signed in their presence prior to receiving the license.